Retrato em preto e branco de um homem idoso de barba e touca

STF Concludes Theme 1,300 and Upholds as Constitutional the Calculation of Permanent Disability Retirement at 60% of the Average Plus 2% for Each Additional Year

This page is a translation of the original Portuguese text, provided for convenience. It deals with Brazilian law. If there is any discrepancy, the Portuguese version prevails. Read the original in Portuguese

Brazil’s Supreme Federal Court (STF) has concluded its judgment of Theme 1,300 and declared constitutional the calculation of permanent disability retirement at 60% of the average of contributions, plus 2% for each year of contributions beyond twenty, a formula introduced by Constitutional Amendment 103 of 2019.

What the Supreme Federal Court Decided

In reviewing Theme 1,300 under the general repercussion procedure (the mechanism by which a ruling on a case of broad significance binds lower courts), the Supreme Federal Court upheld the validity of the calculation model applied to permanent disability retirement after the pension reform. The dispute centered on the formula that, in most cases, lowered the starting percentage of the benefit, which had previously been calculated in a way more favorable to the insured person.

The decision is binding and guides courts throughout the country in judging similar cases. As a result, the interpretation set by the Court becomes a mandatory reference for the INSS (Brazil’s National Social Security Institute) and for the Judiciary, putting an end to much of the uncertainty that had surrounded the issue since the amendment took effect.

The Court’s holding rejects the argument that the new formula violates the social protection guaranteed by the Constitution. In the Court’s view, setting the percentage and the method of calculation falls within the room for discretion that belongs to the legislature acting as a constitutional amender, provided the limits of reasonableness are respected and the essential core of the right to social security is preserved. The Court also stressed that the financial and actuarial balance of the pension system is among the legitimate grounds that allow the legislature to revise the calculation model.

How the Calculation Works After the Pension Reform

Under the current rule, permanent disability retirement starts at 60% of the average of all contribution salaries recorded since July 1994. To that percentage, 2% is added for each year of contributions beyond twenty years for men and fifteen years for women, until, in theory, the benefit reaches the full average.

This design replaced the earlier model, in which the disability benefit was generally calculated on 100% of the benefit base salary (salário de benefício). The change meant a significant cut in the initial monthly amount for people who retire with a shorter contribution record, who are precisely the group most exposed to disabling illnesses during their working lives.

In practice, an insured person who becomes permanently disabled after contributing for only a short time receives proportionally less than they would have before the reform. The 60% starting percentage rises significantly only for those who have built up long periods of contributions, which is not always possible given how unpredictable disability can be.

The constitutionality of the new calculation shifts the pension debate toward the exceptions and toward cases of disability caused by work.

Although the general formula has been confirmed, the legislation preserves situations in which the benefit is calculated more protectively. The distinction between ordinary disability and disability arising from the work environment remains central to determining the amount the insured person will actually receive.

Exception for Work-Related Accidents and Illnesses

Constitutional Amendment 103 of 2019 itself provided that when permanent disability results from a workplace accident, an occupational disease, or a work-related illness, the benefit equals 100% of the average of contribution salaries. In those cases, neither the 60% reduction nor the rule of gradual increases based on contribution time applies.

This distinction carries decisive weight. An insured person who proves a link between the disability and their work activity keeps the right to a full benefit, while someone whose disability has an ordinary cause is subject to the reduced calculation. The origin of the disability has therefore stopped being a mere detail and now directly determines the amount of the monthly benefit.

For that reason, preparing the administrative claim and, if necessary, the court case becomes more important. Medical reports, workplace accident notifications, the occupational profile statement for social security purposes (perfil profissiográfico previdenciário), and other documents showing the connection between the illness and the work environment become essential to securing the classification most advantageous to the insured person. Gathering this technical evidence from the start keeps the agency from denying the causal link for lack of documentation, a situation that often pushes the insured person into a lengthy court dispute with an uncertain outcome.

Who Is Affected by the Theme 1,300 Decision

The confirmation of constitutionality reaches insured persons who applied for permanent disability retirement after the reform took effect in November 2019. For this group, the calculation of 60% plus 2% for each additional year remains the rule, with no possibility of judicial review based solely on a claim that the formula is unconstitutional.

Benefits granted before the reform continue to be governed by the rules in force at the time, out of respect for acquired rights and the prohibition on harmful retroactivity. The Supreme Court’s decision does not authorize retroactive recalculation of benefits already granted under the earlier system, which remain preserved at their original amounts.

Cases that had been suspended pending the judgment also deserve attention. Now that the thesis has been set, these cases resume and are likely to be decided in line with the Court’s position, which calls for a review of litigation strategy in claims that argued only that the calculation was invalid. In those disputes, it makes sense to redirect the argument to points that can still be contested, such as the correct calculation of the average and the recognition of the occupational origin of the disability.

Practical Effects on Social Security Planning

With the thesis now settled, the focus for the insured person and for those advising them shifts from debating the validity of the calculation to getting the average, the contribution time, and the origin of the disability right. Each additional year of contributions can add a concrete increase to the percentage applied, which underscores the importance of keeping your contribution history in good order.

A careful review of the CNIS (National Registry of Social Information) can reveal employment relationships that were not counted, late contributions, and recording errors that improperly lower the average. Correcting these issues before filing the administrative claim can legitimately raise the final amount of the benefit.

In cases of work-related disability, gathering evidence of the causal link early is the surest way to secure calculation at 100% of the average. By closing the door on the constitutionality debate, the Theme 1,300 decision places greater value on the technical work of demonstrating the facts and fitting each situation into the proper legal category.

Frequently Asked Questions

Does Theme 1,300 reduce the amount for someone who is already retired on disability?

No. Benefits granted before Constitutional Amendment 103 of 2019 continue to be calculated under the rules in force when they were granted, because of acquired rights. The Supreme Federal Court’s decision confirms the formula that applies to claims filed after the reform and does not authorize retroactive recalculation of benefits already granted under the earlier system.

Will every permanent disability retirement now be calculated at 60% of the average?

Not in every situation. The rule of 60% of the average plus 2% for each additional year applies to disability from ordinary causes. When the disability results from a workplace accident, an occupational disease, or a work-related illness, the benefit equals 100% of the average of contribution salaries, without the reduction. The origin of the disability is therefore decisive for the amount.

Is it still worth seeking a review of the benefit calculation after this decision?

Yes, although on different grounds. The debate over the formula’s constitutionality is over, but it is still possible to challenge errors in calculating the average, employment relationships that were not counted, contributions that were overlooked, and the classification of the disability as work-related. A review based on these specific points remains a legitimate way to correct the amount of the monthly benefit.

Ficou com dúvidas? Fale com um advogado especialista.

📱 Falar pelo WhatsApp

As informações deste artigo são de caráter informativo e não substituem consulta jurídica individualizada. Cada caso possui particularidades que exigem análise específica.

Similar Posts