Ilustração sobre as diferenças entre auxílio-acidente e benefício por incapacidade temporária do INSS

Auxílio-Acidente vs. Temporary Disability Benefits: The Differences

This page is a translation of the original Portuguese text, provided for convenience. It deals with Brazilian law. If there is any discrepancy, the Portuguese version prevails. Read the original in Portuguese

Often confused with one another, the sickness benefit (auxílio-doença) and the accident benefit (auxílio-acidente) are two social security benefits with radically different requirements, amounts, and rules on collecting them together. These differences directly affect how an insured worker should plan a claim and how long each benefit is paid.

Legal Basis and Nature of Each Benefit

The sickness benefit, governed by Articles 59 to 63 of Law 8.213/1991, requires a temporary inability to work. The insured worker cannot perform his or her job or usual activity for more than fifteen consecutive days, and there is no prognosis of a permanent after-effect at the time the benefit is granted. The benefit assumes that recovery is possible, even if no one can say how long it will take.

Reviewing the documents and deadlines in your specific case points to the legally appropriate step.

The accident benefit, governed by Article 86 of the same law, occupies a different place in the social security system. It begins exactly where the sickness benefit ends: when the insured worker, after the injuries from an accident of any kind have stabilized, is left with a permanent impairment that reduces his or her capacity to work. It is a permanent compensatory benefit, not coverage for temporary disability.

This conceptual distinction matters most in practice. The sickness benefit requires the worker to stay away from work, while the accident benefit coexists with working. It is paid as compensation on top of the salary of an insured worker who stays on the job or returns to the labor market.

Amount, Minimum Contribution Period, and Eligibility Requirements

The sickness benefit equals 91% of the benefit calculation base (salário de benefício), calculated as provided by social security legislation. The required minimum contribution period (carência) is twelve monthly contributions. The exceptions are accidents of any kind and occupational or work-related illnesses, for which the minimum period is waived under Article 26, item II, of Law 8.213/1991.

The accident benefit, in turn, equals 50% of the benefit calculation base in effect on the date of the accident. Although the nominal amount is lower, its nature is completely different. It does not replace your salary. It supplements the earnings of an insured worker who has returned to work with reduced capacity. The law does not require a minimum contribution period for an accident benefit resulting from an accident of any kind.

The difference in percentages reflects the different purposes of the two benefits. The sickness benefit temporarily replaces the income of a worker who is off the job, while the accident benefit permanently compensates for the reduced capacity to work of someone who has gone back to work.

Collecting Both, Termination, and the Order Between Benefits

You cannot collect both benefits at the same time. In practice, the sickness benefit comes before the accident benefit when an accident first causes total temporary disability and, once the injuries have stabilized, leaves a permanent impairment that reduces working capacity. The insured worker receives the sickness benefit during treatment and, on being discharged with a permanent impairment, becomes entitled to the accident benefit.

The sickness benefit ends when you return to work, when it is converted into permanent disability retirement, or when a medical examination by the INSS (Brazil’s National Social Security Institute) finds that the disability has ended. The accident benefit ends when any type of retirement benefit is granted or when the insured worker dies, under Article 86, paragraph 2, of Law 8.213/1991.

The ability to receive the accident benefit while working for pay is a distinctive feature that sets it apart from nearly all other disability benefits under Brazil’s General Social Security Regime. An insured employee can receive the accident benefit while keeping an active employment contract. That is not allowed while receiving the sickness benefit.

The Role of the Medical Examination in the Transition Between Benefits

The INSS medical examination plays a central role in separating the two benefits in practice. Based on a clinical evaluation, the examining physician determines whether the insured worker is temporarily disabled or whether the injuries have already stabilized, leaving permanent impairments. That assessment decides which benefit applies and, as a result, the amount and payment terms for the case.

When the insured worker is still in active treatment and has not reached maximum recovery, the sickness benefit is generally continued. Ending the temporary benefit and possibly granting the accident benefit depend on what is called the “final outcome of the injuries,” which tells the examiner that no significant improvement in the disabling condition is possible anymore.

The insured worker has the right to challenge the examiner’s report through an administrative appeal with the INSS. If the accident benefit is wrongly denied even though medical records clearly document an impairment that reduces working capacity, the denial can be reversed either administratively or in court. Solid medical documentation is the insured worker’s main tool in these cases.

Reporting the Accident and the Deadline to Apply

Reporting a work accident to the employer, which produces the Work Accident Report (Comunicação de Acidente de Trabalho, or CAT), is an important step in proving the link between the event and the injury. The absence of a CAT does not, by itself, prevent recognition of the accident or the granting of the corresponding benefits, but early documentation makes it substantially easier to prove the case to the INSS.

The application for the accident benefit should be filed after the permanent impairment has been established, ideally with a detailed medical report describing the nature of the injury, its connection to the accident, and its effect on the insured worker’s capacity to work. Specialists’ reports, imaging tests, and treatment records make up the ideal body of evidence to support the claim.

You should pay close attention to the statute of limitations for applying for the accident benefit. Social security legislation sets specific deadlines. If they pass, you may lose the right to payments for the period before the application, even though your right to the benefit itself may still be recognized. For that reason, the insured worker should file the application as soon as the permanent impairment is identified.

How the Accident Benefit Affects Retirement Calculations

While it is being paid, the accident benefit is included in the insured worker’s contribution salary base (salário de contribuição), which directly affects the calculation of future retirement. This is a favorable aspect of the benefit. In addition to compensating for reduced working capacity, the accident benefit helps build the average of contribution salaries that will serve as the basis for retirement.

The period in which the insured worker receives the accident benefit while working counts as contribution time for all social security purposes. This means that a worker who returns to work with a permanent impairment and receives the benefit collects, at the same time, the employer’s salary and the INSS compensation, with social security contributions applied as usual to the work earnings.

There is, however, one important point to watch: on retiring, the insured worker loses the right to the accident benefit. For that reason, social security planning should consider the most advantageous time to apply for retirement, weighing whether losing the accident benefit is economically offset by the amount of the retirement benefit that will be received.

Frequently Asked Questions

Can you receive the sickness benefit and the accident benefit at the same time?

No. The two benefits are incompatible and cannot be received simultaneously. The sickness benefit covers the period of temporary disability, while the accident benefit becomes payable only after medical discharge with a finding of a permanent impairment that reduces working capacity. In practice, one benefit follows the other in the timeline of treatment and recovery.

Is the accident benefit deducted from your salary or paid separately?

The INSS pays the accident benefit independently of your salary. The insured worker receives regular pay from the employer and, separately, receives the accident benefit from Social Security. The benefit is compensatory in nature and fully compatible with paid work. For that reason, there is no deduction from, or replacement of, your salary. Instead, an additional amount equal to 50% of the benefit calculation base determined on the date of the accident is added.

Does the insured worker lose the accident benefit on retiring?

Yes. The accident benefit ends automatically when any type of retirement benefit is granted under Brazil’s General Social Security Regime, under Article 86, paragraph 2, of Law 8.213/1991. This point requires special attention in social security planning, because retirement ends the accident benefit even if the insured worker keeps working after retiring.

Ficou com dúvidas? Fale com um advogado especialista.

📱 Falar pelo WhatsApp

As informações deste artigo são de caráter informativo e não substituem consulta jurídica individualizada. Cada caso possui particularidades que exigem análise específica.

Similar Posts