Brazil’s Supreme Court Upholds the Reduced Calculation for Permanent Disability Retirement Caused by Illness After the Reform (Topic 1,300)
This page is a translation of the original Portuguese text, provided for convenience. It deals with Brazilian law. If there is any discrepancy, the Portuguese version prevails. Read the original in Portuguese
Brazil’s Supreme Federal Court (STF) has held that the reduced calculation of the permanent disability retirement benefit is constitutional when the disability results from a common illness, outside the cases of workplace accidents or occupational disease. The decision, issued in the judgment of Topic 1,300 of general repercussion, confirms how the rules introduced by the Social Security Reform apply to the benefit formerly known as disability retirement (aposentadoria por invalidez).
What the Supreme Court decided in Topic 1,300
The dispute centered on a sensitive issue for millions of insured workers: how to calculate the retirement benefit paid to someone who becomes permanently unable to work because of illness. Constitutional Amendment 103 of 2019 profoundly changed that calculation, and the question put to the Court was whether the new, more restrictive formula could apply to disabilities caused by a common illness.
Ruling under the general repercussion procedure (a mechanism that makes a decision binding on lower courts), the Court found that reducing the percentage applied to these benefits does not violate the Constitution. In the Court’s view, the amending legislature had the authority to reorganize the calculation method, as long as the expressly protected situations were preserved, such as disability resulting from a workplace accident or an occupational disease.
Now that the thesis has been fixed under general repercussion, this understanding guides every level of the judiciary and the National Social Security Institute itself. It ends, at least on the constitutional front, a dispute that had been producing conflicting decisions in different parts of the country.
How the calculation changed after the Social Security Reform
Before the Reform, disability retirement guaranteed the insured worker an amount equal to 100% of the benefit base salary (salário de benefício), regardless of how long the person had contributed and regardless of what caused the disability. As a rule, it was the most advantageous benefit in the system, precisely because it supported people who permanently lost the ability to work.
Amendment 103 redesigned this benefit. Under the current general rule, the amount starts at 60% of the average of all contribution salaries, plus 2% for each year of contribution beyond 20 years for men and 15 years for women. Only those with enough contribution time to add up increments to the 100% ceiling reach the full amount.
The constitutionality of the reduced calculation does not erase the essential distinction: disability connected to work is still calculated in full.
In practice, an insured worker who falls ill and becomes disabled after only a few years of contributions receives a substantially smaller benefit than the prior rules would have provided. A worker with just over 20 years of contributions, for example, tends to land close to the 60% floor of the average, a percentage that can make a significant difference in a monthly budget.
It is important to separate two situations that are often confused. The reduced percentage applies to permanent disability retirement resulting from a common illness. When the disability arises from an accident of any kind, a workplace accident, or an occupational disease, a different rule remains in place: the benefit is calculated at 100% of the average, with no reduction.
Who is affected and which situations remain protected
The decision reaches insured workers who become permanently disabled by an illness unrelated to their work. Degenerative diseases, serious mental health disorders, aftereffects of chronic conditions, and various other medical conditions, when not work-related, are now subject to a calculation proportional to contribution time.
The protected cases rest on the Constitution itself and on social security legislation. Disability resulting from a workplace accident, an occupational disease, or a work-related disease continues to produce a benefit calculated in full. The logic is consistent: in those cases, there is a link between the loss of capacity and the activity that generated the contributions.
This distinction demands extra care when preparing administrative and judicial claims. Establishing the link between the illness and the work, through medical reports, occupational profile statements (perfil profissiográfico), and other technical evidence, can determine whether the insured worker is entitled to the full or the proportional calculation.
The final amount also stays within the system’s limits. No income-replacement social security benefit can be lower than the current minimum wage, set at R$ 1.621,00, or higher than the General Social Security Regime (RGPS) ceiling of R$ 8.475,55. Within that range, the amount depends on the combination of the average contributions and the time accumulated.
Practical effects for insured workers and for social security lawyers
Settling this question brings predictability, but it also underscores the importance of planning. For insured workers, the news is hard: relying on disability retirement as a full safety net no longer reflects reality in most cases of common illness. The amount now depends directly on contribution history.
This situation makes it worthwhile to review your work history in advance. Checking for contribution periods that were not counted, employment relationships missing from your records, special-conditions time, and concurrent activities can raise the applicable percentage and, with it, the monthly benefit. Each year of contributions that is correctly recognized adds two percentage points to the calculation.
Correctly classifying the origin of the disability also takes on strategic importance. Claims that could be framed as resulting from an accident or an occupational disease, but are often treated as a common illness, deserve a careful technical review, because the financial difference lasts for the beneficiary’s entire life.
Keep in mind that insured workers contribute for years precisely to protect themselves from unpredictable events, and how the disability is documented from the first administrative claim often affects every later stage. Gathering detailed medical reports, a precise description of the work performed, and evidence of the work environment strengthens the argument for an occupational link and lowers the risk that the reduction will be applied wrongly, avoiding financial losses that pile up month after month.
Finally, if you already receive a benefit and suspect an error in how it was classified or calculated, you should gather your medical and contribution records for review. The Supreme Court’s ruling addresses the validity of the general rule, but it does not prevent challenges in specific cases where the reduction was wrongly applied to protected situations.
Frequently Asked Questions
Does the reduced calculation apply to all disability retirement benefits?
No. The reduced percentage, which starts at 60% of the average and grows with contribution time, applies to permanent disability caused by a common illness. When the disability results from an accident of any kind, a workplace accident, or an occupational disease, the benefit is calculated in full, at 100% of the average of contributions.
Can the amount I already receive change because of this decision?
The decision upholds the calculation rule introduced by the Reform and does not automatically reduce benefits already granted. Each situation depends on the benefit’s start date and the rules in force at that time. If you believe your case was classified incorrectly, especially when the illness is related to work, you may seek a review of the decision granting the benefit, based on the relevant documents.
How can I increase the amount of disability retirement caused by a common illness?
The path is to maximize the contribution time that is recognized, since each year beyond the initial threshold adds two percentage points to the calculation. Reviewing your social security records, adding unregistered employment relationships, proving special-conditions time, and assessing the real origin of the disability are steps that can raise the percentage and, in some cases, remove the reduction.
Receba novidades por e-mail
Cadastre-se gratuitamente para receber nossos novos artigos.
Seus dados estão protegidos conforme a LGPD.
Ficou com dúvidas? Fale com um advogado especialista.
📱 Falar pelo WhatsAppAs informações deste artigo são de caráter informativo e não substituem consulta jurídica individualizada. Cada caso possui particularidades que exigem análise específica.






