Ruling on Motions for Clarification in RE 1.276.977, Brazil’s Supreme Court Reaffirms That the “Whole-Life Review” Thesis Is Overturned and That the Pension Factor Transition Rule Is Mandatory, With No Right for the Insured Person to Choose the More Favorable Calculation
This page is a translation of the original Portuguese text, provided for convenience. It deals with Brazilian law. If there is any discrepancy, the Portuguese version prevails. Read the original in Portuguese
Brazil’s Supreme Federal Court (STF) has reaffirmed that the so-called “whole-life review” thesis has been overturned and that the pension factor transition rule must be applied, without any option for the insured person to choose the more advantageous calculation. The decision came in the judgment of the motions for clarification in Extraordinary Appeal 1.276.977, a case with general repercussion recognized as Topic 1.102.
What the Supreme Court decided in Topic 1.102
In a judgment concluded at the end of November 2025, the full STF court rejected the motions for clarification (embargos de declaração) filed against the ruling that had canceled the thesis favorable to insured persons. By a vote of eight to two, the position of the rapporteur, Justice Alexandre de Moraes, prevailed: the motions were not to be heard, and the understanding established in 2024 was left fully intact.
In practice, the Court confirmed that insured persons have no right to choose between calculating their benefit based on their entire contribution history and calculating it under the transition rule. The whole-life review, which the Court had accepted for a time, no longer has constitutional support following its examination of Direct Actions of Unconstitutionality 2.110 and 2.111.
The judgment on the motions was meant to close the debate. Because motions for clarification serve only to cure an omission, contradiction, or obscurity, and not to reargue the merits, the majority found no defect to correct. As a result, the position against the review became the final outcome of Topic 1.102.
The pension factor transition rule and the lack of any right to choose
The central point of the dispute is the calculation method that applies to insured persons who were already enrolled in the Regime Geral de Previdência Social (RGPS, Brazil’s general social security system) before Law 9.876 of 1999. That law changed the methodology for determining the benefit base salary (salário de benefício) and established a transition rule for those who were already contributing under the earlier system.
The transition rule provides that, for these insured persons, the benefit base salary takes into account contributions made from July 1994 onward, not their entire contribution history. The whole-life review thesis held that, when the full calculation was more favorable, the insured person could opt for it. It was precisely this power of choice that the Supreme Court eliminated.
In reaffirming its earlier decision, the STF held that the transition rule must be applied. It is not an alternative offered to the insured person, but a binding legal command that applies to anyone who fits its terms. The possible financial advantage of the full calculation does not, by itself, create a personal right to use it.
The pension factor transition rule is now mandatory, and the insured person cannot select the calculation method that is most advantageous to them.
This reasoning protects the coherence of the funding system. The methodology set by Law 9.876 of 1999 was designed as a whole, with calculation rules and actuarial balance mechanisms. According to the Court, allowing insured persons to pick out the most favorable criterion would break the logic the legislature intended for the system.
For professionals working in this field, the consequence is direct. Lawsuits based solely on the whole-life review have lost viability, and new claims making this request are likely to be dismissed at the outset, based on the binding precedent set in the general repercussion ruling.
The ruling applies both to administrative requests filed with the Instituto Nacional do Seguro Social (INSS, Brazil’s National Social Security Institute) and to lawsuits. Because Topic 1.102 carries general repercussion, lower courts and the social security agency itself must follow this guidance when reviewing applications.
Reading this together with Law 8.213 of 1991, which governs the benefits of the RGPS, reinforces the conclusion. The calculation of the benefit base salary is subject to the legal parameters in force when the benefit is granted, leaving no room for a discretionary choice by the person concerned.
The modulation of effects and who is affected
In overturning the whole-life review, the Supreme Court had to address the situation of people who had already obtained a favorable ruling while the thesis was in force. To resolve this, the Court established a modulation of effects (a limit on the retroactive reach of its ruling), setting a clear cutoff date for protection.
The Court preserved the non-repayment of amounts already paid to insured persons under court decisions, whether final or provisional, issued up to April 5, 2024. This means that anyone who received back payments based on a decision issued before that date does not have to return what was paid, even though the underlying thesis was later rejected.
The modulation also addressed procedural costs. The Supreme Court waived the charging of losing-party attorney’s fees, court costs, and accounting expert fees against plaintiffs who were still seeking the review in cases pending as of April 5, 2024. This measure prevents insured persons from being financially penalized for having filed suit at a time when the Court’s position favored them.
Outside these protected situations, the new understanding prevails. Insured persons who did not have a favorable decision within the cutoff date have no right to a whole-life recalculation, and cases still pending are likely to be decided under the thesis of dismissal that has now been reaffirmed.
The thesis’s path between 2022 and 2025
The history of this topic helps explain the decision. In 2022, when it ruled on Topic 1.102, the STF recognized that insured persons could opt for the more favorable calculation, establishing a thesis that was then favorable to retirees who fell under the transition rule. That result raised great expectations of benefit recalculations.
The picture changed with the judgment of Direct Actions of Unconstitutionality 2.110 and 2.111 in 2024. In examining the constitutionality of the provisions of Law 9.876 of 1999, the full court concluded that the transition rule is valid, which affected Topic 1.102 and removed the foundation of the whole-life review.
The motions for clarification decided in 2025 were the last chapter in this sequence. Several entities sought clarification and, in some cases, a change in the outcome. By rejecting them, the Supreme Court ended the discussion and consolidated its position that the transition rule is mandatory, with the modulation described above as the only safeguard for settled situations.
For insured persons, the message is one of legal certainty: the issue is settled at the Supreme Court level. For lawyers, the work shifts from filing the review to analyzing each benefit individually, checking whether the specific case falls within the situations protected by the modulation or whether other independent review theories are still viable.
Frequently Asked Questions
Can the whole-life review still be requested?
Not as a standalone thesis allowing the choice of the more favorable calculation. The Supreme Court reaffirmed that the pension factor transition rule is mandatory and that the insured person cannot opt for a calculation based on their entire contribution history. New requests based solely on this ground are likely to be rejected, both administratively and in court, in light of the precedent set in Topic 1.102.
Do people who already received back payments have to return the money?
Anyone who received payment under a court decision, whether final or provisional, issued up to April 5, 2024, is protected by the non-repayment rule set in the modulation of effects. In those cases, there is no obligation to return the amounts received. Outside that cutoff date, the current understanding prevails, and the insured person has no right to a whole-life recalculation.
Which insured persons does the transition rule apply to?
The transition rule applies to insured persons who were already enrolled in the RGPS before Law 9.876 of 1999. For them, the benefit base salary takes into account contributions from July 1994 onward, according to the methodology set by law. Its application is mandatory, with no option to choose another calculation criterion, even if that criterion would be more financially advantageous.
Receba novidades por e-mail
Cadastre-se gratuitamente para receber nossos novos artigos.
Seus dados estão protegidos conforme a LGPD.
Ficou com dúvidas? Fale com um advogado especialista.
📱 Falar pelo WhatsAppAs informações deste artigo são de caráter informativo e não substituem consulta jurídica individualizada. Cada caso possui particularidades que exigem análise específica.






