Paciente jovem deitado em leito hospitalar é atendido por um profissional

TNU Bars Using Disability Benefit Time to Reach the 120 Contributions Needed for the Extended Grace Period

This page is a translation of the original Portuguese text, provided for convenience. It deals with Brazilian law. If there is any discrepancy, the Portuguese version prevails. Read the original in Portuguese

At its November 12, 2025 session, Brazil’s National Uniformization Panel (TNU) held that time spent receiving a disability benefit between periods of contributions cannot be added to the more than 120 monthly contributions required to extend the grace period under Article 15, paragraph 1, of Law No. 8.213/91. The holding limits the use of that interval to maintaining insured status. It does not extend the additional twelve-month period reserved for people with a stronger contribution history.

What the National Uniformization Panel Decided

The panel took up a question that comes up again and again in administrative and court claims: do the months in which an insured person received a disability benefit, sitting between periods of contributions, count toward the 120 contributions needed to extend the grace period (the time during which you remain covered by Social Security even though you are no longer paying in)? The answer was no. In the panel’s view, that interval preserves your tie to Social Security, but it does not turn into a contribution that can raise the history required by the extension rule.

The ruling distinguishes two different effects of time spent on a disability benefit. The first is keeping your insured status during the leave from work, which is recognized without much dispute. The second, now rejected, would have been to use that same period as if it were an actual contribution, in order to pass the legal threshold and obtain twelve additional months of Social Security coverage.

With the issue now uniform, the Federal Special Courts (Juizados Especiais Federais) will apply a single standard, which leaves less room for conflicting decisions on the subject. The holding is likely to guide both the review of claims by INSS (Brazil’s National Social Security Institute) and the courts’ assessment of claims that depend on the longer period for maintaining insured status.

What the Grace Period Is and How the Extension Works

The grace period is the interval in which you keep your insured status even though you are not paying contributions. During this phase, your connection to the system stays active, so a disability, a death, or another triggering event can still give rise to a benefit. The general rule provides twelve months of coverage after the obligation to contribute ends, and that period varies depending on the insured person’s situation.

Article 15, paragraph 1, of Law No. 8.213/91 adds another twelve months for anyone who has paid more than 120 monthly contributions without an interruption that caused loss of insured status. The period can also be extended by another twelve months in cases of proven unemployment, which can bring the total to thirty-six months when the cumulative requirements are met.

Time on a disability benefit preserves your tie to Social Security, but it does not become a contribution capable of extending the coverage period.

The extension has real practical weight. When an illness appears months after the last contribution, the difference between twelve and twenty-four months of coverage can decide whether you are entitled to the temporary disability benefit or to permanent disability retirement. That is why counting exactly the contributions that open the door to this extension has become a sensitive point in everyday Social Security claims.

The dispute arose in the gray area between keeping insured status and extending the period. Many insured people came close to 120 contributions only by counting the months of benefits they received between two jobs or between two periods of work. The panel closed that route and now requires actual contributions in the count that supports the extension.

In the panel’s view, that interval preserves your tie to Social Security, but it does not turn into a contribution that can raise the history required by the extension rule.

Practical Effects for Insured People

The most direct consequence falls on people whose contribution history is close to the 120-contribution threshold and includes periods on a disability benefit. For them, the grace period calculation must consider only the months of actual contributions, without counting benefit time as if it were a contribution. The result may shorten the window of coverage available after the last paid work.

In concrete terms, if you contributed for many years but had several medical leaves along the way, you should check carefully whether your actual contributions exceed the legal threshold. If the total falls below 120 once the benefit period is left out, the additional twelve months do not apply, and your coverage ends at the standard deadline.

The ruling underscores the importance of reviewing your Social Security record before filing any claim. Identifying precisely the months of contributions, the benefit periods, and any interruptions lets you anticipate whether your insured status still exists on the date of the triggering event. This technical assessment helps you avoid claims doomed to denial for loss of insured status.

For professionals who work in this field, the holding demands rigor in building the contribution timeline. Defending the right now depends on showing enough actual contributions, not merely a formal connection to the system during the leave periods. In borderline situations, proof of payments made as a self-employed or voluntary contributor during the intervening periods can make a difference in meeting the requirement.

How the Holding Relates to Insured Status

Two concepts that are often confused need to be kept apart. Insured status is the condition that links a person to the Social Security system and entitles them to receive benefits. The time spent on a disability benefit preserves that status, because the law treats insured people as protected while they receive the benefit. The uniformization did not change that point.

What the panel clarified was the limit of that effect. Keeping your insured status during a leave is one thing; using the same interval to inflate the number of contributions and unlock the extension is another. The first function remains intact, and the second was rejected. The benefit period maintains the connection, but it does not build the contribution level that the law reserves for those who actually paid in more than 120 times.

This reading honors the literal text of the provision, which speaks of monthly contributions. The legislature tied the additional benefit of the longer period to a concrete, sustained contribution effort. Allowing months of medical leave to fill that space would hollow out the criterion, putting someone who actually paid in on the same footing as someone who merely kept their connection while disabled.

The ruling also brings predictability to the system. Uniform criteria for counting contributions reduce litigation and standardize the administrative response, which supports legal certainty. At the same time, they place a duty on insured people, and on those who advise them, to plan the contribution history with a clear understanding of which periods really count for each purpose.

Frequently Asked Questions

Does time on a disability benefit still preserve insured status?

Yes. The period in which you receive a disability benefit preserves your insured status and keeps your tie to Social Security during the leave. The National Uniformization Panel’s decision did not change that effect. What it settled is that the same interval cannot be counted as a contribution to reach the more than 120 contributions required to extend the grace period. These are separate functions: preserving the connection and extending the coverage period are not the same thing.

Can people who have had medical leaves lose the grace period extension?

They can, depending on the number of actual contributions. If an insured person reaches 120 contributions only by adding the months on a disability benefit, that count is not allowed for the additional twelve-month extension. When actual contributions fall below the legal threshold, only the standard period for maintaining insured status applies. That is why the count must consider only actual contributions, not the leave periods.

How can I tell whether my insured status is still in effect?

Checking requires a detailed review of your contribution history, identifying the months of actual contributions, the benefit periods, and any interruptions. From that timeline, the applicable coverage period is calculated, taking into account the general twelve-month rule and the extensions for more than 120 contributions or for proven unemployment. Given the complexity, it is advisable to gather your complete documentation and have the case technically evaluated before filing a claim, to avoid a denial for loss of insured status.

Ficou com dúvidas? Fale com um advogado especialista.

📱 Falar pelo WhatsApp

As informações deste artigo são de caráter informativo e não substituem consulta jurídica individualizada. Cada caso possui particularidades que exigem análise específica.

Similar Posts