Colunata e escadaria de pedra no interior de um edifício judiciário

Brazil’s STJ Sets the Interest-to-Sue Criteria and Benefit Start Date for Social Security Lawsuits in Topic 1.124

This page is a translation of the original Portuguese text, provided for convenience. It deals with Brazilian law. If there is any discrepancy, the Portuguese version prevails. Read the original in Portuguese

In a judgment completed on October 8, 2025, the First Section of the STJ (Brazil’s Superior Court of Justice) set the theses in Topic 1.124 under the repetitive appeals procedure. They establish the criteria for the interesse de agir (the legal interest required to bring a lawsuit) in social security cases, and the date from which financial effects begin when a benefit is granted on the basis of evidence that INSS (Brazil’s National Social Security Institute) never examined at the administrative stage.

What the STJ Decided in Topic 1.124

The judgment addressed a recurring dispute in the Social Security Courts and the Federal Special Courts: what to do when an insured person brings to court documents or evidence that the social security agency never considered during the administrative application. The question bears directly on two sensitive points: whether the lawsuit is admissible at all, and how to determine the benefit’s start date.

Under the thesis, when the evidence that is decisive for recognizing the right appears only in court, without ever having been reviewed by INSS, the judge must set the Benefit Start Date at the date of valid service of process on INSS, or at a later date on which the legal requirements are shown to have been met. This approach respects the five-year statute of limitations, so installments older than five years before the filing of the lawsuit cannot be recovered.

The decision was issued under the binding procedure for repetitive appeals. That means trial judges and appellate courts across the country must follow it in pending and future cases, bringing predictability to an issue that had been receiving conflicting answers depending on the region.

Why the Interest to Sue Depends on a Prior Application

The judgment starts from the requirement of a prior administrative application as a condition for going to court in social security matters. The reasoning is straightforward: unless the agency has had the chance to review the request and the supporting documents, there is generally no contested claim that would justify court intervention.

This requirement is not a mere bureaucratic formality. It structures how rights are recognized, protects INSS’s administrative role, and keeps the courts from becoming the first stage at which benefits are granted. The logic applies with particular force when the insured person presents, only at the court stage, new evidence capable of changing the outcome of the request.

When an insured person withholds a piece of evidence from the agency and saves it for the lawsuit, INSS never has the chance to recognize the right administratively. The logical consequence falls on the financial starting point, and that is precisely the aspect the thesis addresses clearly.

The question bears directly on two sensitive points: whether the lawsuit is admissible at all, and how to determine the benefit’s start date.

Setting the Benefit Start Date at Service of Process

The heart of Topic 1.124 is the definition of the starting point for financial effects. The Benefit Start Date, known by the acronym DIB, determines the date from which the insured person is entitled to receive payments. In ordinary administrative requests, this date generally coincides with the date the application was filed with INSS.

The situation changes when the decisive evidence was not reviewed administratively. In that scenario, the STJ held that it would not be appropriate to backdate the financial effects to the application date, because the agency never had access to the evidence that supports the grant. The starting point becomes the valid service of process, the moment when INSS formally learns of the lawsuit and the evidence that accompanies it.

The court also allowed the DIB to be set at a date after service of process when the legal requirements for the benefit are met only later. This rule keeps the substantive right and the financial starting point consistent, preventing payment of installments for a period in which the insured person did not yet meet the required conditions.

Without evidence reviewed by INSS, financial effects begin at service of process, not at the administrative application.

Another essential element is respect for the statute of limitations. Installments that fell due more than five years before the lawsuit was filed cannot be collected, following the general rule for recurring payments. The thesis thus reconciles the recognition of the right with the time limits that the legal system places on collecting past-due amounts.

Practical Impact for Insured Persons and Lawyers

The settled position has direct consequences for litigation strategy. An insured person who has relevant documents now has a strong incentive to submit them to INSS right away, with the administrative application, rather than saving them for the lawsuit. Timely submission may preserve a more favorable financial starting point, tied to the date of the administrative request.

For professionals in this field, the thesis reinforces the importance of building a complete administrative record. Carefully assembling the application, with evidence of contribution time, special (hazardous) work activity, rural employment ties or incapacity, is no longer just good practice. It now carries measurable economic weight for the client.

There is also an effect on the calculation of past-due amounts. When the DIB is moved to the date of service of process, the accumulated amount tends to be smaller than it would be if it went back to the application date. Insured persons and their lawyers should take this into account when assessing the economic viability of a lawsuit and setting expectations about the financial outcome.

The amount of the payments, in turn, follows the current parameters of the social security system. The current minimum wage, set at R$ 1.621,00, serves as the floor for benefits, while the INSS ceiling of R$ 8.475,55 caps the maximum amount of payments under the general social security regime.

The Binding Reach of the Repetitive Appeals Thesis

The binding force also guides the social security agency itself and its legal advisory bodies, which now have a uniform standard for defending cases in which the insured person presents new evidence only in court. The resulting predictability benefits the system as a whole by aligning administrative and judicial action.

For stayed cases that were waiting for the thesis to be defined, the conclusion of the judgment clears the way for decisions in line with the established position. Each court will have to check, in the specific case, whether the decisive evidence went through administrative review, and apply the financial starting point that corresponds to each situation.

Frequently Asked Questions

What changes about the date benefit payments begin after Topic 1.124?

When the evidence that is decisive for granting the benefit was not reviewed by INSS and appears only in the lawsuit, the Benefit Start Date becomes the date of valid service of process, not the date of the administrative application. Financial effects may also be set at a later date if the legal requirements are met only later, always subject to the statute of limitations for installments older than the last five years.

Is an administrative application always required before filing a lawsuit?

Generally, yes. A prior administrative application is a condition for the interest to sue in social security cases, because it allows the agency to review the request and the documents before the courts step in. The requirement matters especially when the insured person intends to present evidence capable of changing the outcome, since the lack of administrative review affects the financial starting point of the benefit.

Does presenting evidence only at the court stage harm the insured person?

It can reduce the amount of past-due benefits. If the decisive evidence did not go through administrative review, the Benefit Start Date tends to be set at service of process rather than at the application date, which shortens the period for which financial effects reach back. For that reason, submitting complete documentation at the administrative stage usually preserves a more favorable starting point for the insured person, with a direct effect on the amount to be received.

Ficou com dúvidas? Fale com um advogado especialista.

📱 Falar pelo WhatsApp

As informações deste artigo são de caráter informativo e não substituem consulta jurídica individualizada. Cada caso possui particularidades que exigem análise específica.

Similar Posts