Mãos de pessoa idosa assinam um documento com caneta

How Permanent Disability Retirement Is Calculated

This page is a translation of the original Portuguese text, provided for convenience. It deals with Brazilian law. If there is any discrepancy, the Portuguese version prevails. Read the original in Portuguese

Brazil’s Supreme Federal Court (STF) has upheld the Social Security Reform rule that ended full-value permanent disability retirement, preserving payment of 100% of the average only when the disability results from a workplace accident or an occupational disease.

What the Supreme Court Decided

By a vote of six to five, the Supreme Federal Court (STF) upheld the rule introduced by Constitutional Amendment 103/2019, which changed how permanent disability retirement is calculated. This benefit was formerly known as disability retirement (aposentadoria por invalidez). The Court granted an appeal filed by the INSS (Brazil’s National Social Security Institute) against a Federal Court ruling that had awarded an insured worker the benefit at its full value.

The judgment began in the virtual plenary and, after in-person sessions, was concluded in December 2025. The prevailing view was that the legislative change must be respected, and that granting full benefits outside the cases the law provides for would undermine the financial balance of the Social Security system.

As a result, the INSS will now apply the reduced calculation as a settled rule, ending a dispute that had dragged through the courts since the reform took effect.

How the Benefit Is Now Calculated

Before the reform, disability retirement paid 100% of the average of the insured worker’s contributions. Constitutional Amendment 103/2019 changed that approach and introduced a calculation tied to the length of time you contributed.

Under the current rule, the benefit equals 60% of the arithmetic average of all your contributions, plus two percentage points for each year of contribution beyond 20 years for men and 15 years for women. Workers with longer contribution histories reach higher percentages, although they rarely reach the full average.

In practice, a worker with only a few years of contributions who becomes permanently disabled may receive considerably less than he or she would have under the former system.

As a general rule, the benefit is no longer paid in full. It now reflects the contribution time the insured worker has accumulated.

This new method brings permanent disability retirement closer to the approach applied to the other types of retirement reformulated in 2019, breaking with the tradition of full protection that historically accompanied disability.

The Court granted an appeal filed by the INSS against a Federal Court ruling that had awarded an insured worker the benefit at its full value.

When Retirement Is Still Paid in Full

The reform itself preserved one important exception. Payment of 100% of the average remains guaranteed when the permanent disability originates from a workplace accident or an occupational disease. In those situations, the link between the work performed and the harm to health justifies stronger protection.

Outside those cases, including cases of serious, contagious or incurable illness, the proportional calculation applies. This distinction, which had previously been challenged in court, was expressly confirmed by the Supreme Court. That should bring greater consistency to how the INSS and the courts handle the issue.

What This Means for Insured Workers

This settled interpretation calls for extra care from anyone applying for the benefit. Correctly establishing the origin of the disability, especially proving any connection to work, becomes decisive in determining whether the benefit will be paid in full or in proportion.

Consistent medical records, reports describing how the illness has progressed, and the PPP (Perfil Profissiográfico Previdenciário, a document recording a worker’s exposure to workplace hazards), when the job involved hazardous activity, carry decisive weight in supporting the application. Gaps in this evidence can significantly reduce the amount awarded.

Workers who already receive the benefit in a proportional amount and believe their disability resulted from a workplace accident or an occupational disease may reassess their situation, subject to the deadlines and requirements that apply to any review.

What to Expect Going Forward

The Supreme Court’s ruling is likely to have an immediate effect on pending cases. Lawsuits that argued for the full percentage now face a settled position against them, which lowers the chances of success for claims based solely on the former rule.

For new applications, specialists agree on one central point: gather strong evidence about the nature of the disability from the very beginning. When there are signs of an occupational origin, submitting detailed employment records can make the difference between a proportional benefit and a full one.

The situation underscores the importance of planning ahead and analyzing each case individually, since small differences in contribution time and in how the illness is characterized can significantly change the final amount of the benefit.

Frequently Asked Questions

If I retire due to permanent disability, do I still receive 100% of the average?

Only in specific situations. The full amount remains guaranteed when the permanent disability results from a workplace accident or an occupational disease. In all other cases, the benefit is calculated in proportion to your contribution time, starting at 60% of the average.

How does the increase on top of the 60% of the average work?

For each year of contribution beyond 20 years for men, or 15 years for women, two percentage points are added to the initial 60%. So the more contribution time you have accumulated, the higher the percentage applied to the average of your contributions.

What changes in practice after the Supreme Court’s decision?

The decision ends the debate over the rule’s validity and establishes the proportional calculation as the definitive standard. The INSS applies this standard uniformly, and proving the origin of the disability becomes even more important in determining the amount of the benefit.

Ficou com dúvidas? Fale com um advogado especialista.

📱 Falar pelo WhatsApp

As informações deste artigo são de caráter informativo e não substituem consulta jurídica individualizada. Cada caso possui particularidades que exigem análise específica.

Similar Posts