A Preexisting Condition Can Block an INSS Benefit
This page is a translation of the original Portuguese text, provided for convenience. It deals with Brazilian law. If there is any discrepancy, the Portuguese version prevails. Read the original in Portuguese
Having an illness before you join Brazil’s social security system does not, by itself, bar you from receiving a disability benefit. The law denies the right when the insured person was already unable to work at the time of enrollment, but it makes one decisive exception: if the incapacity results from the worsening or progression of the condition after enrollment, the benefit is owed. Understanding this boundary is what separates a denial from an approval, both for the temporary disability benefit and for the permanent disability retirement.
The General Rule Under Law 8.213/91
The starting point is Article 42, paragraph 2, and Article 59, sole paragraph, of Law 8.213/91. Both say essentially the same thing: an illness or injury that the insured person already had when joining the Regime Geral de Previdência Social (Brazil’s General Social Security Regime) does not give rise to a right to a disability benefit.
The logic protects the system from people who enroll already disabled just to claim the benefit. Someone who joins knowing they cannot work cannot shift onto all the other insured people a risk that had already materialized before any contribution was made.
This distinction is the heart of the matter. The rule does not bar the benefit for someone who had an illness before enrolling. What it bars is the benefit for someone who was already unable to work before contributing. A prior illness and a prior incapacity are different legal facts, with opposite consequences.
It is worth noting that the burden of proving that the incapacity already existed falls on the Instituto Nacional do Seguro Social (Brazil’s National Social Security Institute, or INSS). It is not enough for the agency to point to an old illness in order to deny the benefit, because the law presumes that the insured person entered the system able to work. The INSS must show, unequivocally, that the work limitation already existed at the moment of enrollment, and not merely that the illness came earlier.
The Exception That Changes Everything: Worsening and Progression
The very provisions that set out the rule also contain the escape valve. The right to the benefit is recognized when the incapacity arises from the progression or worsening of the illness or injury that the insured person already had when enrolling.
The reasoning is consistent. If a person had a controlled condition, kept working and contributing normally, and only after enrolling did the condition advance to the point of preventing work, then the incapacity arose within the social security relationship. It is a new risk, covered by the contributions.
Think of common scenarios: diabetes that progresses to disabling complications, a degenerative spinal disease that worsens over the years, a stabilized psychiatric disorder that decompensates, heart disease that gets worse. In every one of them, the illness predates enrollment, but the incapacity comes later. In these cases, approval is the rule, not the exception.
It is up to the insured person to show when the worsening occurred. Medical records, serial test results, reports showing how the condition evolved, and records of ongoing treatment are the evidence that separates a controlled preexisting illness from the preexisting incapacity the law prohibits.
There is one more point that favors the claimant. When the insured person returned to paid work for a significant period after the illness appeared, the law presumes that he or she was able to work during that interval, since the work itself proves the ability. The incapacity, then, falls at a later moment, within the period of coverage.
The law does not punish someone for having an old illness; it punishes only someone who was already unable to work before contributing.
This shift in focus, from the illness to the incapacity, is the strongest legal argument against automatic denials. Many claims are rejected at the administrative stage simply because the medical examiner found an old illness, without investigating when the inability to work actually set in.
Both say essentially the same thing: an illness or injury that the insured person already had when joining the Regime Geral de Previdência Social (Brazil’s General Social Security Regime) does not give rise to a right to a disability benefit.
How the Medical Examination and the Courts Tell the Scenarios Apart
In practice, everything comes down to two questions: Did the illness exist before enrollment? Did the incapacity? The combination of the answers defines four typical situations, each with a different outcome.
| Illness | Incapacity | Result |
|---|---|---|
| After enrollment | After enrollment | Benefit owed, no dispute |
| Before enrollment | After, due to worsening | Benefit owed, under the statutory exception |
| Before enrollment | Before enrollment | Benefit not owed, general rule |
| Before enrollment | No proven worsening | Denial likely, appeal available |
The medical expert report is the central piece of evidence. A well-conducted examination does not stop at saying that an old illness exists; it fixes the date the incapacity began and gives an opinion on any worsening. When the examiner is silent on that point, the report is incomplete and can be challenged.
That is why the questions submitted to the examiner matter so much. Questions about when the worsening occurred, whether there was earlier treatment without time off work, and how old and recent test results compare steer the conclusion toward the legally relevant point.
In the courts, the prevailing view favors the insured person when there is proof of work after the illness appeared. The ability to work shown by performing the job undermines the claim of preexisting incapacity and strengthens the argument of later worsening.
The grace period (carência, the minimum number of contributions required) also deserves attention. For disability benefits, the grace period requirement has exceptions for certain serious illnesses listed in an act of the competent Ministry. In those cases, whether the illness preexisted becomes irrelevant, because the law itself waives the minimum contribution period in view of the severity of the condition.
Strategies If Your Claim Was Denied
A denial based on a preexisting illness is not the end of the road. The first step is to obtain a copy of the administrative medical report and check whether the agency investigated the date of the incapacity or merely pointed to the existence of an old illness.
Once you have gathered the medical documentation showing how the condition evolved, you can appeal administratively or file a lawsuit seeking the benefit. Obtaining a court-ordered medical examination, with specific questions about worsening, is often decisive.
The insured person should build a clear timeline: the date of enrollment or re-enrollment, the date of diagnosis, the periods of work after the diagnosis, and the moment when stopping work became necessary. This chronology puts the case in the language the law requires.
It is also advisable to gather statements from employers and coworkers confirming that you actually kept working after the diagnosis. This body of evidence complements the medical documents and reinforces the argument that your ability to work continued for a significant period after enrollment, moving the starting point of the incapacity into the period of social security coverage and weakening the claim that it preexisted.
The clearer the gap between a controlled illness and a later incapacity, the stronger the right. Guidance from a social security lawyer helps identify what evidence is missing and draft the questions that direct the medical examination to the right point.
Frequently Asked Questions
Does an illness that predates enrollment always bar a disability benefit?
No. The law denies the benefit only when the incapacity also existed before enrollment. If the illness existed earlier, but the incapacity arose later, through worsening or progression, the benefit is owed. The decisive factor is when the incapacity began, not when the illness began.
How do I prove that my condition worsened after enrollment?
With medical documentation that shows how the condition evolved: serial test results, medical records, comparative reports, and records of ongoing treatment. The time you worked after the diagnosis also proves that you were able to work during that period, placing the incapacity at a later moment covered by your contributions.
What should I do if the medical examiner found a preexisting illness and my claim was denied?
You can appeal administratively or file a lawsuit. The key is to show that the incapacity arose after enrollment, through worsening. It is worth challenging reports that did not fix the date the incapacity began and submitting specific questions about the progression of the illness in the court-ordered medical examination.
Receba novidades por e-mail
Cadastre-se gratuitamente para receber nossos novos artigos.
Seus dados estão protegidos conforme a LGPD.
Ficou com dúvidas? Fale com um advogado especialista.
📱 Falar pelo WhatsAppAs informações deste artigo são de caráter informativo e não substituem consulta jurídica individualizada. Cada caso possui particularidades que exigem análise específica.






