Bandejas de refeição servidas, enfileiradas sobre uma mesa

TNU Suspends Meal Allowance Ruling on Initial Benefit Amount

This page is a translation of the original Portuguese text, provided for convenience. It deals with Brazilian law. If there is any discrepancy, the Portuguese version prevails. Read the original in Portuguese

Brazil’s National Uniformization Panel (TNU) has suspended Topic 244, which decides whether a regular meal allowance counts toward the contribution salary (salário de contribuição) and the calculation of the initial monthly benefit amount (RMI). The suspension was published on August 14, 2026, pending a ruling by the Supreme Federal Court.

What the Topic 244 Thesis Says

The question before the panel was whether a meal allowance paid regularly, whether in cash form, by meal voucher, card or ticket, is salary in nature and counts toward the contribution salary when calculating the initial monthly benefit amount. The panel’s answer came in two parts, divided by a date.

The first part covers the period before the new wording of § 2 of Art. 457 of the Consolidation of Labor Laws (CLT). For that period, the allowance counts as remuneration, serves as a base for both the employer’s and the insured person’s social security contributions, and affects the calculation of the initial monthly benefit amount. The thesis states that the outcome is the same whether or not the employer was enrolled in the Workers’ Food Program.

The second part begins on November 11, 2017, when the labor reform that amended that paragraph took effect. From that date on, only a meal allowance paid in cash counts as remuneration and affects the benefit calculation. Meals provided by card, ticket or voucher no longer form part of the contribution base.

That cutoff date explains who benefits from the thesis. It reaches contribution months before November 2017, even if the benefit was granted much later, because the legal average is drawn from the insured person’s entire contribution history. Anyone who worked under a formal employment contract during that period and regularly received the allowance is the natural beneficiary of this position.

The weight of this thesis comes from the role of the body that issued it. The National Uniformization Panel exists to harmonize the interpretation of federal law among the appellate panels of the federal small claims courts, which is where most low-value social security cases are heard. A thesis fixed in a representative topic then guides the judgment of all cases involving the same dispute.

Why the Topic Has Been On Hold Since August 2026

The National Uniformization Panel’s official table of representative topics lists Topic 244 as stayed. The decision to select the case as representative dates from November 2019. The judgment on the merits took place in April 2022, with the decision published that same month and supplemented in June of that year.

The topic groups two representative cases. In one of them, the table shows a final, unappealable judgment in May 2026. In the other, the suspension was published in the National Electronic Judicial Gazette on August 14, 2026, with a reference to Topics 1.415 and 1.437 of the Supreme Federal Court (TNU PEDILEF 5002880-91.2016.4.04.7105/RS).

The practical effect is waiting. Cases that argue for including the allowance in the contribution salary are likely to be held up in the federal small claims courts and appellate panels until the Supreme Court resolves the two general repercussion topics cited. The suspension does not revoke the thesis or declare it wrong. It postpones its application.

For the insured person, this means that a revision request based only on this thesis is unlikely to get a quick decision. It does not follow, however, that the request should be put off, for the reason discussed below.

Suspending the topic postpones the ruling on your request, not the forfeiture deadline (decadência) for seeking the revision.

The difference between the court’s clock and the clock on your right is what causes the most permanent loss of money in disputes like this, and it deserves separate attention.

How the Allowance Enters the Initial Monthly Benefit Amount

The path is indirect and runs through three provisions of Law 8.213/91. Art. 29, § 3, requires the calculation of the benefit base (salário de benefício) to take into account “the insured employee’s regular earnings, in any form, whether in currency or in kind, on which social security contributions have been paid,” excluding the year-end bonus.

Items I and II of the same Art. 29 define the benefit base as the simple arithmetic average of the highest contribution salaries, covering eighty percent of the entire contribution period, with the social security factor (fator previdenciário) applied to some types of benefits. A higher contribution salary in several months raises that average, and the initial monthly benefit amount results from applying the benefit coefficient to it.

Two limits must be kept in mind. Art. 29, § 2, prevents the benefit base from exceeding the maximum contribution salary on the date the benefit starts. If you were already contributing at the ceiling, currently set at R$ 8.475,55, you gain nothing from including the allowance, because the average would be capped anyway.

The second limit is the size of the increase. Art. 29-B requires the contribution salaries used in the calculation to be adjusted month by month by the National Consumer Price Index. A modest allowance spread across more than a hundred months may therefore move the final average very little. The math should come before the request.

Reading the two texts together explains the 2017 turning point. The social security law reaches regular earnings paid in currency or in kind, as long as contributions were paid on them. When the labor law removed from the concept of remuneration any meal allowance provided in a form other than cash, the in-kind benefit stopped being part of the contribution base, and its effect on the benefit calculation disappeared with it.

The Ten-Year Deadline Keeps Running Even While the Topic Is Suspended

Art. 103 of Law 8.213/91 sets a ten-year forfeiture period (decadência) on the insured person’s right or claim to seek review of an act granting, denying, canceling or terminating a benefit, and likewise of an act granting, denying or refusing a revision.

The count has two starting points. Under item I, it begins on the first day of the month after the first payment was received, or after the date on which the payment should have been made at the revised amount. Under item II, it begins on the day the insured person learns of the administrative decision denying, canceling or terminating the request, or of the decision on a revision.

The sole paragraph of the same article adds the statute of limitations (prescrição). Any action to recover overdue payments or amounts owed by Social Security is barred after five years, counted from the date the payments should have been made, except for the rights of minors, legally incapacitated persons and absent persons.

The combination of the two deadlines is harsh. If you wait for the Supreme Court’s final word, you may find the tenth year has passed and lose the right to seek a revision entirely. Even if you avoid the forfeiture period, delay still costs money, because each month of waiting pushes another payment outside the five-year window for back pay.

One situation deserves particular attention: that of someone who has already requested a revision and received an answer. In that case, item II of Art. 103 also starts the clock from the date you learned of the administrative decision on that request, which can significantly shorten the time available to take the same issue to court.

What to Check Before Requesting a Revision

The thesis does not dispense with proof. You must show that you received the allowance regularly and in what form. That is done with pay stubs, the employer’s payroll records, the collective bargaining agreement for your occupation, and entries in your work card. Without that documentary support, the request rests on nothing more than your own statement.

The National Social Information Registry (CNIS) statement is the second document to review, because it is from this record that INSS (Brazil’s National Social Security Institute) draws the contribution salaries used in the calculation. Art. 29-A, § 2, of Law 8.213/91 allows the insured person to request, at any time, the inclusion, deletion or correction of information in the registry, by submitting documents that prove the discrepancies identified.

It is also worth defining the reach of this position. The thesis concerns insured employees and allowances paid by the employer, with the November 2017 cutoff dividing the two regimes. It does not address self-employed contributors, does not create a right to a new benefit, and does not change requirements for the minimum contribution period, age or length of contribution.

What remains is the risk on the merits, which exists and should be stated plainly. A stayed topic awaits a decision from a higher court, and that decision may confirm, narrow or overturn the current thesis. By filing the request, you preserve your date and deadline, but you accept an uncertain outcome. This is different from litigating under a settled position.

Finally, measure the result before going to court. A simulated recalculation, with the allowance amounts adjusted and the average recomputed, shows whether the monthly difference justifies the request and whether you are still within the Art. 103 deadlines. A request filed without that calculation can take years to produce pennies.

Frequently Asked Questions

Does a meal allowance received by card after 2017 increase my retirement benefit?

No, according to the second part of the thesis. From November 11, 2017, only payment in cash counts as remuneration and affects the benefit calculation. Meals provided by card, ticket or voucher fall outside the contribution base, so months after that date do not produce an increase on this basis.

Is it worth requesting a revision now, with the topic suspended?

The stay delays the decision, not the deadline. Art. 103 of Law 8.213/91 keeps running, and once the ten years have passed, the right to seek a revision is extinguished. If you are close to that limit, you have reason to file the request, knowing that a ruling on the merits will probably wait for the Supreme Federal Court’s judgment.

If I contributed at the ceiling, is there anything to gain from this revision?

As a rule, no. Art. 29, § 2, of Law 8.213/91 prevents the benefit base from exceeding the maximum contribution salary on the date the benefit starts. If your contribution salaries in the calculation period already reached the ceiling, including the allowance changes neither the average nor the initial monthly benefit amount.

Base legal citada

Leia o texto integral e atualizado no CM Legis:

Ficou com dúvidas? Fale com um advogado especialista.

📱 Falar pelo WhatsApp

As informações deste artigo são de caráter informativo e não substituem consulta jurídica individualizada. Cada caso possui particularidades que exigem análise específica.

Similar Posts