Profissional de saúde anotando em prancheta diante de uma paciente

Benefit Denied for Lack of Insured Status: How to Reverse the Decision

This page is a translation of the original Portuguese text, provided for convenience. It deals with Brazilian law. If there is any discrepancy, the Portuguese version prevails. Read the original in Portuguese

The grace period lets a worker keep insured status with INSS (Brazil’s National Social Security Institute) even after he or she stops contributing, preserving access to benefits for up to three years. Because so few people know about this rule, many claims are denied unnecessarily, even though social security coverage was still in force when the triggering event occurred.

What the grace period is and why it exists

The grace period is the interval during which an insured person keeps all of his or her rights under Brazil’s Social Security system, even without paying contributions. During this time, the person remains covered by benefits such as temporary disability benefits, permanent disability retirement, maternity pay, and survivor’s pensions for his or her dependents.

The purpose of this rule is to protect workers from losing coverage immediately in common situations such as unemployment, the end of self-employed work, or recovery from an illness. It would be disproportionate to end protection on the very day the last contribution went unpaid.

Insured status, then, is the legal bond that connects a person to the social security system. As long as that bond lasts, the triggering event for a benefit, such as a disability or a death, finds the insured person covered, even if contributions stopped months earlier.

The deadlines in Article 15 and their extensions

The legal basis for the grace period is Article 15 of Law 8.213/91, which sets different deadlines depending on the insured person’s situation. Anyone receiving a benefit keeps insured status, with no time limit, for as long as payments continue. Someone who stops working for pay, or whose disability benefit ends, keeps insured status for up to twelve months.

An optional contributor, meaning someone who pays into the system without being required to by an occupation, keeps insured status for up to six months after the last contribution. For an insured person who is imprisoned, the twelve-month period runs from release. A person who was drafted into military service keeps insured status for up to three months after discharge.

Two extensions greatly lengthen these deadlines and are often decisive. The first benefits anyone who has paid more than 120 monthly contributions without an interruption that caused loss of insured status: the twelve-month period increases to twenty-four months. The second applies to unemployed workers who can prove they are out of work, adding another twelve months to the existing period.

Taken together, the extensions allow a worker with a long contribution history and proven unemployment to keep insured status for up to thirty-six months. This technical detail changes the outcome of many claims, and the agency’s initial review does not always take it into account.

Insured status can last for up to three years after the last contribution, and that is the window in which many rights are preserved.

Another sensitive issue is the exact moment insured status is lost. Settled case law from the higher courts holds that the loss occurs on the day after the deadline for paying the contribution due for the month following the end of the grace period. This calculation may look purely bureaucratic, but it often extends coverage by several more weeks and can reach the date of the triggering event.

The grace period is the interval during which an insured person keeps all of his or her rights under Brazil’s Social Security system, even without paying contributions.

Why a denial for loss of insured status is often weak

Many denials based on loss of insured status stem from an incomplete reading of the contribution history. The review looks only at the date of the last recorded contribution and ignores the extensions that apply, especially the unemployment extension and the one for more than 120 contributions.

Proving unemployment is the issue that generates the most disputes. Registration with the labor agency is the natural way to show it, but the courts accept other kinds of evidence, recognizing that the absence of a formal registration does not, by itself, rule out unemployed status. Witness testimony and the absence of employment relationships in the national social information registry strengthen that showing.

In other situations, the system itself fails to count valid contributions, late payments that were later regularized, or periods of work that were not recorded correctly. When these gaps are filled, the grace period count shifts, and the triggering event falls back within social security coverage.

It is worth remembering that when INSS denies a benefit on this ground, the burden of proving the loss of insured status falls on INSS itself. The agency must state precisely the date on which coverage supposedly ended, and any reasonable doubt about how the Article 15 deadlines are counted must be resolved in favor of preserving the insured person’s status.

Ways to reverse the denial

When a claim is denied for loss of insured status, the first path is administrative. You can appeal to the Social Security Appeals Council, which reviews the claim again and can recognize extensions that the initial decision overlooked. The appeal should include the complete contribution history and, where applicable, proof of unemployment.

The administrative route has the advantage of not requiring a lawsuit and of allowing recording errors to be corrected without the strain of court proceedings. In many cases, simply resubmitting the documents in an organized way, along with the correct reasoning on the Article 15 deadlines, is enough to overturn the decision.

If the administrative route has been exhausted or is not viable, the judicial route opens. A social security lawsuit allows broad presentation of evidence, including witness testimony, which is essential for proving unemployment without a formal registration. The insured person may ask for the benefit to be granted from the date of the administrative claim, with payment of the past-due installments from that date.

Choosing between the two routes depends on the nature of the denial. Objective counting errors favor the administrative solution, which is faster. Disputes over proof of unemployment or over the recognition of certain periods tend to fare better in court, where the evidentiary phase is more complete. A technical review of the specific case points to the most efficient strategy.

Whichever path you take, the central point is to show that the insured person still held insured status on the date of the triggering event. Gathering an updated contribution history, identifying every extension that applies, and organizing proof of unemployment are the steps that most influence the outcome.

Frequently Asked Questions

How long does the grace period last?

The period varies depending on the situation. As a general rule, it is twelve months after contributions or the disability benefit end, and six months for an optional contributor. It increases to twenty-four months for anyone with more than 120 uninterrupted contributions, and it can receive another twelve months in cases of proven unemployment, reaching up to thirty-six months.

How can I prove unemployment to extend the grace period?

Registration with the labor agency is the direct way, but it is not the only one. The courts accept other kinds of evidence, such as the absence of employment relationships in the national social information registry and witness testimony. Showing that you had no new paid work is enough to support the additional twelve-month extension.

Can a denial for loss of insured status be reversed?

Yes. Many denials disregard the extensions provided by law or contain recording errors in the contribution history. An administrative appeal to the Social Security Appeals Council can correct these points, and the judicial route allows you to present broad evidence, including witness testimony, to show that insured status was still in effect on the date of the triggering event.

Ficou com dúvidas? Fale com um advogado especialista.

📱 Falar pelo WhatsApp

As informações deste artigo são de caráter informativo e não substituem consulta jurídica individualizada. Cada caso possui particularidades que exigem análise específica.

Similar Posts