Pessoa de máscara, enrolada em um cobertor, lendo papéis em casa

Brazil’s National Uniformization Panel (TNU) Sets Topic 365 and Bars Counting Time on Temporary Disability Benefits Between Jobs Toward the 120 Contributions Required to Extend the Grace Period

This page is a translation of the original Portuguese text, provided for convenience. It deals with Brazilian law. If there is any discrepancy, the Portuguese version prevails. Read the original in Portuguese

In its ruling on Topic 365, the National Uniformization Panel of the Federal Special Courts held that time spent receiving a temporary disability benefit between periods of work does not count toward the 120 monthly contributions required to extend the grace period. The panel adopted a restrictive reading of Article 15 of Law 8.213 of 1991.

What the TNU decided in Topic 365

The question before the panel was whether the months in which an insured person received a temporary disability benefit, formerly known as sickness benefit (auxílio-doença), can count toward the 120 monthly contributions that Article 15 of Law 8.213 of 1991 requires to extend the period during which a person keeps insured status.

In setting Topic 365, the National Panel concluded that this period of leave preserves insured status for as long as the benefit lasts, but it is not an actual contribution. It therefore does not count toward the monthly contributions the law requires to extend the deadline.

The panel’s job is to standardize the interpretation of federal law in the special courts, so that identical cases do not get different answers depending on the region. When it sets a thesis, it directs the other courts to apply the same standard to similar situations.

The ruling reads the provision literally. It separates two situations that are often confused in practice: keeping insured status while receiving the benefit, and counting contributions to lengthen the grace period after the benefit ends.

The grace period and the 120-contribution requirement

The grace period is the window in which a worker remains covered by Social Security even without paying contributions. During that time, the worker keeps insured status and the right to benefits such as disability benefits, maternity pay, and a survivor’s pension for dependents in the event of death.

As a general rule, Article 15 guarantees this status for up to twelve months after contributions stop. The first paragraph of the same article allows that period to be extended to twenty-four months when the insured person has already accumulated more than 120 monthly contributions without a break that causes loss of insured status.

An additional twelve months are also available to an unemployed insured person who proves the unemployment to the competent agency. Taken together, protection can reach thirty-six months, which makes the counting of contribution months a sensitive point in many claims.

The 120-contribution requirement therefore works as a reward for a longer contribution history. The question the National Panel resolved was whether months on a disability benefit, during which no contributions are paid, can be used to reach that threshold.

The answer was no. The panel’s reading distinguishes contribution time, which presupposes payment of contributions or paid work, from time in which insured status is merely maintained. The latter results from simply receiving the benefit and does not become a contribution for this specific purpose.

Receiving the benefit preserves insured status, but it does not generate the contributions that extend the grace period.

This distinction has a direct effect when calculating how long a worker remains protected after ceasing to contribute. It can decide whether a benefit requested months after the last contribution is granted or denied.

The grace period is the window in which a worker remains covered by Social Security even without paying contributions.

Why benefit time between jobs does not count toward the 120 contributions

The core reasoning lies in the legal nature of the leave period. While receiving a disability benefit, the insured person does not perform paid work or make monthly contributions, except in specific situations where the person resumes contributing. What the law protects during that time is insured status, not the building of new contribution months.

The National Panel noted that the first paragraph of Article 15 expressly refers to monthly contributions. That phrase points to actual payment or to a period of work that creates the duty to contribute. Time on a benefit does not, by itself, meet the concept required to extend the grace period.

This reasoning avoids an improper overlap of purposes. Recognizing benefit time for retirement purposes when it falls between periods of work is one thing, and that situation is governed by its own rule. Using the same time to stretch the window of protection that the law reserves for insured persons with a longer history is another, and the thesis clearly rejected it.

The interpretation keeps the system coherent, because each rule has its own premise and purpose. Treating the receipt of a benefit as a contribution for all purposes would extend the rule beyond what its text allows. It would create a distortion between those who actually contributed and those who merely kept their insured status.

Practical impact for insured persons

In practice, an insured person who wants to add up 120 contributions to reach the extended grace period must show contribution payments or periods of paid work. Months in which the person only received a disability benefit do not count.

Anyone planning to apply for a benefit after a long absence from work should carefully review their record in the National Social Information Registry. The difference between twelve and twenty-four months of protection can be decisive, especially in survivor’s pension cases, where the deceased person’s insured status is assessed as of the date of death.

The thesis also guides the agency and the courts. When denying claims on the ground that insured status was lost, the agency is likely to cite Topic 365 to exclude benefit months from the count. On the insured person’s side, it is worth checking whether there are enough contributions from other sources before challenging the calculation.

It is worth watching how the federal special courts apply this ruling in practice. The goal of standardization is to give identical cases the same answer and reduce conflicting decisions on the same point, which brings greater predictability to anyone litigating social security matters.

How to review your insured status before filing a claim

Before filing a claim, the first step is to map your entire contribution history and pinpoint the date of your last contribution or last period of work. That date starts the grace period clock and determines the period of protection that applies to your case.

Next, you need to check whether you actually have more than 120 monthly contributions without a break that causes loss of insured status, counting only contribution payments and periods of work, as the thesis requires. Any gaps in your record can be filled with documents such as work-card entries and proof of payment.

When your history does not reach the required threshold, you can still look at other ways of keeping insured status, such as the added period for proven unemployment. An individual review of your record, combined with a correct reading of Article 15, is what defines the safest strategy for you.

Frequently Asked Questions

What is the grace period in Social Security?

It is the window in which a worker keeps insured status even without paying contributions. During this time, which as a rule lasts up to twelve months after the last contribution, the worker remains protected and can receive benefits such as a disability benefit. Dependents also keep their right to a survivor’s pension.

Does time on a disability benefit count toward the 120 contributions?

Under the thesis set in Topic 365, it does not. Time spent on a benefit between periods of work preserves insured status, but it is not an actual monthly contribution. It therefore cannot be added to the 120 months required by the first paragraph of Article 15 to extend the grace period.

Is the National Panel’s decision binding on the federal special courts?

Theses set through uniformization guide the judgment of repetitive cases in the federal special courts and serve as a benchmark for harmonizing decisions on the same question of law. Each individual case still requires an analysis of the evidence and of the insured person’s own contribution history before the ruling is applied.

Ficou com dúvidas? Fale com um advogado especialista.

📱 Falar pelo WhatsApp

As informações deste artigo são de caráter informativo e não substituem consulta jurídica individualizada. Cada caso possui particularidades que exigem análise específica.

Similar Posts