LER/DORT: How to Prove the Connection to Your Work
This page is a translation of the original Portuguese text, provided for convenience. It deals with Brazilian law. If there is any discrepancy, the Portuguese version prevails. Read the original in Portuguese
LER and DORT (repetitive strain injuries and work-related musculoskeletal disorders) entitle you to temporary disability benefits. Recognition of the connection to your work changes the type of benefit, guarantees 12 months of job security, and waives the minimum contribution period. Proof depends on a PPP (Perfil Profissiográfico Previdenciário, the occupational profile statement issued by your employer), a CAT (Comunicação de Acidente de Trabalho, the work accident report), and well-supported medical reports.
What LER and DORT Are
LER stands for Lesões por Esforços Repetitivos, or repetitive strain injuries. DORT stands for Distúrbios Osteomusculares Relacionados ao Trabalho, or work-related musculoskeletal disorders. Both terms describe the same group of conditions, which affect muscles, tendons, nerves, and joints because of the way the work is performed.
This group includes tendinitis, tenosynovitis, epicondylitis, bursitis, carpal tunnel syndrome, rotator cuff injury, cervicobrachial syndrome, and trigger finger. The condition almost always starts as localized pain at the end of the workday. It fades over the weekend and returns on Monday. Over time, the pain no longer lets up, and loss of strength, tingling, and limited movement appear.
A cashier who rotates her wrist eight hours a day, a data-entry clerk who closes a thousand records per shift, a bank employee who fills in screens without a break, and a factory worker who lifts parts above shoulder height all fall ill through similar patterns: repetition, force, awkward posture, a pace set by someone else, and no real rest breaks.
For purposes of a benefit, what matters is the link between the illness and the work you do, together with your inability to work at the time you apply. A tendinitis treated with five days off work does not generate a benefit. The same tendinitis, if it keeps an insured worker off the job for more than fifteen days, opens the door.
Article 20 of Law No. 8.213/91 treats two kinds of illness as equivalent to a work accident: occupational disease, produced by the work peculiar to a given activity, and work-related disease, acquired because of the special conditions under which the work is performed. LER and DORT usually fall into the second category, and they appear in Annex II of Decree 3.048/99, which lists diseases of occupational origin.
Paragraph 1 of that same Article 20 excludes from the concept degenerative disease, disease inherent to an age group, disease that does not cause disability, and endemic disease acquired by a resident of a region where it develops. Most denials rely on this exclusion, with the medical examiner attributing the condition to natural wear from aging. If you are facing this kind of refusal, you will find the full picture in our material on occupational disease and work accidents at the INSS (Brazil’s National Social Security Institute).
How the Connection to Work Is Recognized
There are three ways to link the illness to the work, and they are not mutually exclusive. The first is the occupational technical link (nexo técnico profissional ou do trabalho), which comes directly from the regulatory list: if the condition appears on the list of occupational diseases and the insured worker performs the corresponding activity, the work-related origin is already established.
The second is the individual technical link, built by the medical examination from the specific facts of the case. What weighs here is the description of the workstation, the length of exposure, the side of the body affected (pain in the right shoulder of someone who operates a press with the right arm says a lot), the clinical progression, and the absence of another plausible cause.
The third is the epidemiological technical link, the NTEP, provided for in Article 21-A of Law No. 8.213/91 and regulated by Decree 3.048/99. It works through a statistical cross-reference between the code for the employer’s economic activity, the CNAE, and the disease code in the International Classification of Diseases, the CID. If the two match in the official table, the connection is presumed.
The practical consequence of the NTEP is a shift in the burden of proof. The medical examiner may decline to apply it by showing, with reasons, that the condition has no relation to the work, and the employer may request that it not be applied, with the right to respond. Until that happens, the presumption favors the worker.
There is also contributing cause (concausa), addressed in Article 21 of the same law. Work does not need to be the only cause of the illness. It is enough that it contributed directly to the loss or reduction of your capacity. A pre-existing osteoarthritis aggravated by ten years of repetitive strain is still a case for a work-related benefit, and this is precisely the point that administrative medical reports tend to ignore.
The epidemiological link presumes a work-related origin, and it is up to the employer to show otherwise, not up to the worker to prove what the official statistics already indicate.
The epidemiological link presumes a work-related origin, and it is up to the employer to show otherwise, not up to the worker to prove what the official statistics already indicate.
Even with the presumption in your favor, your application is stronger when it is well documented. Documentary evidence narrows the medical examiner’s room for interpretation, and if the case ends up in court, it is what supports the request to convert the type of benefit.
Documents That Prove the Connection
The PPP is the most useful document on this list. Issued by the employer, it describes your job duties, the risk factors, the organization of the work, and the period of exposure. A PPP that records repetitive movements, production pace, and awkward posture does half the work of persuasion.
The CAT formally reports the event to the INSS. The employer has a duty to issue it, and omission is common when the employer wants to avoid an increase in its risk rating. The law allows the insured worker, the worker’s dependents, the labor union, the treating physician, or a public authority to file the report as well.
In addition to these two, gather whatever else is available:
- reports from an occupational physician, orthopedist, neurologist, or physiatrist, with the CID and a description of the functional limitation
- imaging tests and electroneuromyography, which document the injury objectively and rebut any claim that your complaint is merely subjective
- medical certificates and reports showing how your condition has progressed over the years, and not just the current flare-up
- records from the company clinic and the occupational health service
- production records, schedules, time cards, and targets, which reveal the real pace of work
- photos and videos of the workstation, useful for showing posture and inadequate furniture
- LTCAT (the technical report on workplace environmental conditions) and the risk management program, when the employer keeps them
One detail changes a lot in a medical report: it must state plainly which movement or working condition caused the injury. A generic certificate with a CID and the professional’s stamp proves the illness, not its origin.
What Changes for the Insured Worker
The INSS classifies the temporary disability benefit into two types. The B31 is the ordinary social security benefit, granted when the illness has no relation to work. The B91 is the work-related benefit, granted when the connection is recognized. The monthly amount is calculated the same way, which is why many people think the distinction is merely bureaucratic.
It is not. The first difference is job security. Article 118 of Law No. 8.213/91 guarantees that the employment contract will be maintained for at least twelve months after a work-related sickness benefit ends, regardless of whether you receive an accident benefit (auxílio-acidente). Someone who receives a B31 goes back to work with no protection against dismissal.
The second is the FGTS (Brazil’s Severance Indemnity Fund). While you are away because of a work accident, the employer remains required to make FGTS deposits under Law No. 8.036/90. During an ordinary leave, the deposits stop, and a worker who spent two years on benefits loses two years of deposits.
The third is the minimum contribution period. Article 26 of Law No. 8.213/91 waives the requirement of twelve monthly contributions in cases of accidents of any kind and of occupational or work-related disease. A newly hired worker who develops tendinitis because of the job is entitled to the benefit even without enough contribution time for a B31.
The fourth appears later. Once the work-related origin is recognized, the way opens for a damages claim against the employer in the Labor Courts, for material, moral, and aesthetic damages, when the employer was at fault in how the work was organized. And if a lasting impairment remains that reduces your capacity, you may apply for the accident benefit for sequelae that reduce work capacity, which is paid as compensation and can be received on top of your salary.
There is also a procedural effect. Work-accident lawsuits against the INSS are heard in the state courts, not the federal courts, which changes where the case must be filed.
The Medical Examination and the Administrative Application
You file the application through Meu INSS (the INSS’s online portal and app) or the INSS phone line, attaching your documents beforehand. Scheduling the examination without building the file first is the most common mistake, because the examiner evaluates you in a few minutes and decides based on what is on the screen.
When filling out the application, the insured worker should state expressly that the illness is work-related and report the existence of a CAT. This entry directs the analysis toward the work-related benefit type. Without it, the system tends to process the case as a B31, even if the CID and the CNAE match in the NTEP table.
During the evaluation, the examiner looks at two things in sequence: whether there is a disability and, if so, what its origin is. Bringing recent test results, a report describing your functional limitations, and your PPP allows you to answer both questions at once. If you want to prepare, you will find the routine laid out in our material on the INSS medical examination.
It helps to describe your workday in simple, concrete language during the exam. Saying that you work with data entry explains little. Saying that you type six hours straight, without wrist support, with a target of two hundred customer contacts per shift, gives the examiner the information he needs to record in the report. Dr. Cassius Marques usually advises clients to bring this description in writing, so that nothing is lost in the tension of the moment.
When the INSS Denies or Ignores the Connection
Two different scenarios call for different responses. In the first, the benefit is denied for lack of disability. In the second, the benefit is granted, but as a B31, with the examiner disregarding the relationship to work. The harm in the second case often goes unnoticed until the moment of dismissal.
In both cases, you may file an administrative appeal to the Social Security Appeals Council within thirty days of being notified of the decision. The first-level decision is made by the Appeals Boards (Juntas de Recursos), and an unfavorable decision may still be appealed to the Judgment Chambers (Câmaras de Julgamento). The appeal should be accompanied by new documentation, because merely repeating arguments rarely changes the outcome.
If the denial stands, the remaining route is court, with a request for an examination by a medical expert appointed by the judge and the submission of questions that directly address the issues of the work connection and contributing cause. At this stage, the PPP, the production records, and your long-term clinical history carry decisive weight.
The request to convert a B31 into a B91 can be made even after you have been discharged from the benefit, with retroactive effect to the benefit’s start date, which restores the lost job security and the FGTS deposits that were not made. Case law has accepted this reclassification when the technical evidence shows an occupational origin.
Frequently Asked Questions
Who can issue the CAT when the employer refuses?
The employer’s refusal does not prevent the report from being filed. Law No. 8.213/91 authorizes the injured worker, the worker’s dependents, the labor union, the physician who treated the worker, or any public authority to issue the CAT. The worker can register it through Meu INSS or take a report from the treating physician to an INSS office. A CAT issued by a third party is equally valid for supporting the application, and the employer’s omission can also serve as evidence in a later damages claim, because it shows an attempt to conceal the event.
Why does the INSS grant a B31 even when the illness is tied to the job?
This happens when the application does not indicate an occupational origin, when no CAT has been filed, or when the examiner rules out the connection based on natural wear. The system classifies the case using the information available at the time of the analysis, and the automatic cross-check between the CNAE and the CID is not always triggered. Correcting it depends on the insured worker taking action, through an administrative appeal or a lawsuit, with an express request to convert the type of benefit and recognize the retroactive effects.
How long does the worker have to appeal a denial?
The deadline for an administrative appeal is thirty days from notice of the INSS decision. If that deadline is missed, the court route remains open, subject to the five-year statute of limitations (prescrição) on past-due installments, which affects only amounts older than five years before the lawsuit is filed and does not extinguish the right to the benefit itself. There is no need to wait for the administrative appeals to be exhausted before going to court. The initial denial is enough to establish a legal interest in suing.
Receba novidades por e-mail
Cadastre-se gratuitamente para receber nossos novos artigos.
Seus dados estão protegidos conforme a LGPD.
Ficou com dúvidas? Fale com um advogado especialista.
📱 Falar pelo WhatsAppAs informações deste artigo são de caráter informativo e não substituem consulta jurídica individualizada. Cada caso possui particularidades que exigem análise específica.






